

G/SG/N/10/IDN/25/Suppl.1 G/SG/N/11/IDN/19/Suppl.2

3 June 2020

Original: English

(20-3915) Page: 1/3

Committee on Safeguards

NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 12.1(C) OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 9, FOOTNOTE 2 OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

INDONESIA

Yarn (Other Than Sewing Thread) of Synthetic and Artificial Staple Fibres

Supplement

The following communication, dated 29 May 2020, is being circulated at the request of the delegation of Indonesia.

Pursuant to Articles 12.1(c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, the Government of the Republic of Indonesia hereby notifies the issuance of Minister of Finance's Regulation Number 56/PMK.010/2020 dated 27 May 2020, promulgated in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Indonesia Number 531-2020 on 27 May 2020 regarding the imposition of a safeguard measure on the importation of Yarn (Other Than Sewing Thread) of Synthetic and Artificial Staple Fibres, for 3 periods started on 27 May 2020.

A. GENERAL BACKGROUND

On 3 March 2020, the Republic of Indonesia notified the findings of safeguard investigation in which it was concluded that there was an evidence that the increased of volume of imports have caused a threat of serious injury to the domestic industry concerned in this investigation (G/SG/N/8/IDN/25 - G/SG/N/10/IDN/25).

It was also indicated in the notification that the Investigating Authority was proposing to the Government of the Republic of Indonesia the imposition of a safeguard measure on the importation of the subject goods.

B. DESCRIPTION OF THE SUBJECT GOODS

The description of the subject goods are as follows:

"Yarn (Other Than Sewing Thread) of Synthetic and Artificial Staple Fibres", under Harmonized System (HS.) codes 5509.22.00, 5509.32.00, 5509.51.00, 5509.53.00, 5510.12.00, and 5510.90.00.

C. DESCRIPTION OF THE PROPOSED MEASURE

The Government of the Republic of Indonesia has decided to impose the following safeguard duty:

TIMETABLE OF THE SAFEGUARD DUTY

Period	Measure
Period I (27 May 2020- 8 November 2020)	Rp. 1,405 /Kg
Period II (9 November 2020- 8 November 2021)	Rp. 1,192 /Kg
Period III (9 November 2021- 8 November 2022)	Rp. 979 /Kg

Below is the list of developing countries excluded from the said safeguard measure, and the Government of the Republic of Indonesia reserves the right to modify this list in light of changing import volumes exceeded 3%.

LIST OF DEVELOPING COUNTRIES EXCLUDED FROM THE MEASURES

No.	Countries	No.	Countries
1	Afghanistan	62	Guatemala
2	Albania	63	Guinea
3	Angola	64	Guinea-Bissau
4	Antigua and Barbuda	65	Guyana
5	Argentina	66	Haiti
6	Armenia	67	Honduras
7	Bahrain, Kingdom of	68	Hong Kong, China
8	Bangladesh	69	Israel
9	Barbados	70	Jamaica
10	Belize	71	Jordan
11	Benin	72	Kazakhstan
12	Bolivia, Plurinational State of	73	Kenya
13	Botswana	74	Korea, Republic of
14	Brazil	75	Kuwait, the State of
15	Brunei Darussalam	76	Kyrgyz Republic
16	Burkina Faso	77	Lao People's Democratic Republic
17	Burundi	78	Lesotho
18	Cabo Verde	79	Liberia
19	Cambodia	80	Liechtenstein
20	Cameroon	81	Macao, China
21	Central African Republic	82	Madagascar
22	Chad	83	Malawi
23	Chile	84	Malaysia
24	Colombia	85	Maldives
25	Congo	86	Mali
26	Costa Rica	87	Mauritania
27	Côte d'Ivoire	88	Mauritius
28	Cuba	89	Mexico
29	Democratic Republic of the Congo	90	Moldova, Republic of
30	Djibouti	91	Mongolia

No.	Countries	No.	Countries
31	Dominica	92	Montenegro
32	Dominican Republic	93	Morocco
33	Ecuador	94	Mozambique
34	Egypt	95	Myanmar
35	El Salvador	96	Namibia
36	Eswatini	97	Nepal
37	Fiji	98	Nicaragua
38	Gabon	99	Niger
39	Gambia	100	Nigeria
40	Georgia	101	Oman
41	Ghana	102	Pakistan
42	Grenada	103	Panama
43	Papua New Guinea	104	Suriname
44	Paraguay	105	Chinese Taipei
45	Peru	106	Tajikistan
46	Philippines	107	Tanzania
47	Qatar	108	The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM)
48	Russian Federation	109	Togo
49	Rwanda	110	Tonga
50	Saint Kitts and Nevis	111	Trinidad and Tobago
51	Saint Lucia	112	Tunisia
52	Saint Vincent & the Grenadines	113	Uganda
53	Samoa	114	Ukraine
54	Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of	115	United Arab Emirates
55	Senegal	116	Uruguay
56	Seychelles	117	Vanuatu
57	Sierra Leone	118	Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
58	Singapore	119	Yemen
59	Solomon Islands	120	Zambia
60	South Africa	121	Zimbabwe
61	Sri Lanka		

It is requested that this notification under Article 12.1 (c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards be brought to the notice of Members.
